Disabled Life, Introduction

Opening blog

This is new. I have no idea how this will turn out so bear with me while I get the hang of it. The plan at this stage is to blog about things I see day-to-day and keep a bit of a record as to what it’s like being disabled. I did this because it’s hard to tell people about the prejudices against disabled people. So hopefully this ends up being helpful.

Things that sound small but aren’t. Like the way I get looked at if I go out after dark, yes that happens. Being talked down to is a cliché. I also make short films on occasion so I’ll write about that as well as the actual art of writing. I don’t plan on doing film reviews, there’s enough people doing that already, but if I see something amazing I’ll try to pass it on.  I live in New Zealand and my film making/writing  influences are John Carpenter, Joss Whedon and Jane Espenson.

I’ve had one funded film so far Rollmance you can view it here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-85-TkeD5js

My disability is cerebral palsy. Essentially I have the same thing as Walt Jr from Breaking Bad. It effects my legs mainly so I’m on crutches. My handwriting is a bit messy as the signals from my brain to limbs is off by fractions of a second.

That’s all for now.

Cubro

Standard

3 thoughts on “Opening blog

Leave a Reply

